Skip navigation

Address humanitarian needs and restore engagement with Cuba

Using the tools below, please write and call your Representative and ask them to sign on to the Cuba letter led by Representatives Mcgovern, Lee, Meeks and Rush! Sending an email is great, but a call is even better!

If your Representative already signed, adjust the message and thank them for their leadership. 

James P. McGovern (MA) – co-lead, Rules Committee Chair
Barbara Lee (CA) – co-lead, SFOPS SC Appropriations Chair
Gregory W. Meeks (NY) – co-lead, HFAC Chair
Bobby L. Rush (IL) – co-lead, Energy SC Chair, E&C
Nydia M. Velázquez (NY)
Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)
André Carson (IN)
Steve Cohen (TN)
Peter Welch (VT)
Dwight Evans (PA)
Andy Levin (MI)
Jake Auchincloss (MA)
Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr. (GA-04)
Rashida Tlaib (MI)
Mike Doyle (PA)
Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ)
Jared Huffman (CA)
Jan Schakowsky (IL)
Alan B. Lowenthal (CA)
Donald M. Payne, Jr. (NJ)
Anna G. Eshoo (CA)
Adriano Espaillat (NY)
Grace Meng (NY)
Ayanna Pressley (MA)
Dina Titus (NV)
Mark DeSaulnier (CA)
Betty McCollum (MN)
Bennie G. Thompson (MS)
Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12)
Maxine Waters (CA)
Dean Phillips (MN)
Mondaire Jones (NY)
Ron Kind (WI)
Chellie Pingree (ME)
Joaquin Castro (TX)
David Trone (MD)
John Garamendi (CA)
Earl Blumenauer (OR)
Donald S. Beyer, Jr. (VA)
John A. Yarmuth (KY)
Stephen F. Lynch (MA)
Jim Himes (CT)
Mark Pocan (WI)
Danny K. Davis (IL)
Peter A. DeFazio (OR)
David N. Cicilline (RI)
Suzanne Bonamici (OR)
Karen Bass (CA)
David E. Price (NC)
Jamie Raskin (MD)
Robin L. Kelly (IL)
Gwen Moore (WI)
Brenda L. Lawrence (MI)
Zoe Lofgren (CA)
Ro Khanna (CA)
Ilhan Omar (MN)
Ted Lieu (CA)
Pramila Jayapal (WA)
Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY)
Sara Jacobs (CA)
Jamaal Bowman (NY)
Jerry McNerney (CA)
Melanie Stansbury (NM)
Anthony G. Brown (MD)
Mark Takano (CA)
Jerrold Nadler (NY)
Emanuel Cleaver, II (MO)
Paul D. Tonko (NY)
Daniel T. Kildee (MI)
John B. Larson (CT)
Diana DeGette (CO)
Rosa L. DeLauro (CT)
Sheila Jackson-Lee (TX)
Cori Bush (MO)
Jesús G. “Chuy” García (IL)
Ed Perlmutter (CO)
Deborah K. Ross (NC)
David Scott (GA)
Mike Thompson (CA)
Doris O. Matsui (CA)
Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX)
Rick Larsen (WA)
Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ)
Adam Smith (WA)
Jackie Speier (CA)
Ami Bera, M.D. (CA)
Al Green (TX)
Linda T. Sánchez (CA)
Debbie Dingell (MI)
Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ)
Teresa Leger Fernández (NM)
Judy Chu (CA)
Lori Trahan (MA)
Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (GA)
Nikema Williams (GA)
Marilyn Strickland (WA)
Marie Newman (IL)
Kweisi Mfume (MD)
Juan Vargas (CA)
Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA)
Jahana Hayes (CT)

"My name is [First and Last Name], I am a constituent calling from [City/Town, Zip Code] to urge Representative [Your Representative’s Last Name] to sign onto Rep. Jim McGovern’s dear colleague letter to President Biden, asking him to advance a U.S. policy towards Cuba that addresses the country’s economic crisis and restores engagement on areas of mutual concern.

Cuba has been experiencing shortages of food, energy and medicine as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic and U.S. policies that have intensified the economic crisis. The letter calls for immediate and concrete actions to alleviate the crisis, such as ending regulations that impede humanitarian assistance from reaching Cubans, ending restrictions on sending family remittances and lifting restrictions on travel. 

The longer Cuba remains in crisis, the more likely it is that more Cubans will attempt the perilous journey to Florida, exacerbating the many issues with immigration our nation faces. Cooperation with Cuba on issues such as migration, disaster response and climate change is a win-win for both countries. Principled engagement and lifting failed sanctions will improve the human rights and quality of life of Cubans.

I hope that Representative [Your Representative’s Last Name] will consider this request and sign onto the letter."

Important: If they ask for more information or if they would like to join the letter, tell them to please contact Cindy Buhl (Rep. McGovern) at [email protected]; Gregory Adams (Rep. Lee) at [email protected]; or Zakiya Carr Johnson (Rep. Meeks) at [email protected].