Skip navigation

Co-Sponsor The Foreign Policy for the 21st Century Resolution!

Representatives Pramila Jayapal (WA-07) and Barbara Lee (CA-13) introduced The Foreign Policy for the 21st Century Resolution that calls for United States foreign policy to focus on diplomacy, conflict resolution, global cooperation, accountability, and non-military tools of statecraft.

The resolution specifically calls for cutting waste, fraud, and abuse in defense spending and security assistance while returning the power of war-making to elected officials, implementing arms controls and nuclear nonproliferation, and ending the use of broad-based, sectoral sanctions. It also calls for investing in diplomacy, international justice and cooperation, peacebuilding, and green development while cutting security assistance and weapons sales to human rights abusers

The resolution is co-sponsored by U.S. Representatives Barbara Lee, Jamaal Bowman, Andre Carson, Raúl Grijalva, Sara Jacobs, Henry C. “Hank” Johnson Jr., Alan Lowenthal, James McGovern, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, Donald Payne Jr., Ayanna Pressley, Jan Schakowsky, Mark Takano, Rashida Tlaib, Nydia Velazquez, and Bonnie Watson Coleman.