Skip navigation

Tuesday, May 4 Capitol Calling Party: Divest from the War Machine

On Tuesday, May 4, CODEPINK Congress will be led by two special co-hosts, Danaka Katovich and Olivia Hamer of the Peace Collective. We will be joined by two guests: 

Carley Towne is CODEPINK’s national co-director and leader of its Divest from War campaign. Carley graduated from the University of California in San Diego with a degree in critical gender studies and political science. Carley will update us on outreach to urge investors, universities, religious organizations, retirement funds, and mutual funds to divest from war, share CODEPINK’s recommendations for cuts to the military budget, and explain the thinking behind the Divest from the War Machine pledge.

Stephen Semler is co-founder of the Security Policy Reform Institute, a grassroots-funded think tank promoting a working-class approach to US foreign policy. Before that, he gained extensive knowledge of the formulation of the US military budget through his experience working for a Capitol Hill-based government relations firm. While living in Beirut, Stephen worked for Mercy Corps' Humanitarian Access Team, which conducted analysis to inform the delivery of humanitarian relief by non-governmental organizations in the context of the conflict in Syria.

Together, we will learn who in Congress is taking the most money from military contractors and whether there is a correlation between these congressional representatives and their votes for militarism. Please RSVP for the Zoom information!

Can we count you in?






Marcy Winograd ·

214 RSVPS Roger Underhill Mary Hanson Justin Truong akiko oguchi Charlotte Casey David Sonneborn Steph Terrazas Dr. F. Taylor Alex McDonald Andrew Silver Barbara Wimsatt Sara Roos Linda Wan Azza Basarudin Geraldine Bell Christopher Lish Kate Connell Susan Benjamin susan mirsky Marcy Winograd Camille Russell Cody Hunter Olivia Hamer Diane Bozzetto Lamont Phemister Danaka Katovich Lynn Jacobsson Tlaloc Tokuda Michael Beer Lucille Gervase Jan Weinberg Robert Richard Danett Abbott-Wicker Dan Oneal Timothea Papas Lorna Paisley Brigid Mullane Suzanne Sparks John Leehane Margo Schulter John Douglas Jeffery Hull marie bravo Paul Flansburg Virginia Meagher Delia McGrath beverly mcgain David Kuebrich

Who's RSVPing

  • Roger signed 938 days ago

  • Mary signed 945 days ago

  • Justin signed 945 days ago

  • akiko signed 945 days ago

  • Charlotte signed 945 days ago

  • David signed 945 days ago

  • Steph signed 945 days ago

  • Dr. F. signed 945 days ago

  • Alex signed 945 days ago

  • Andrew signed 945 days ago

  • Barbara signed 945 days ago

  • Sara signed 945 days ago

  • david signed 945 days ago

  • Linda signed 945 days ago

  • Azza signed 945 days ago

  • Geraldine signed 945 days ago

  • Christopher signed 945 days ago

  • Kate signed 945 days ago

  • Susan signed 945 days ago

  • susan signed 945 days ago

  • Marcy signed 945 days ago

  • Camille signed 945 days ago

  • Cody signed 945 days ago

  • Olivia signed 945 days ago

  • Diane signed 945 days ago

  • Lamont signed 946 days ago

  • Danaka signed 946 days ago

  • Lynn signed 946 days ago

  • Tlaloc signed 946 days ago

  • Michael signed 946 days ago