Skip navigation

Tuesday, December 7 Capitol Calling Party: Abolish the Space Force!

Tuesday, December 7 Capitol Calling Party: Abolish the Space Force!

On Tuesday, December 7, join CODEPINK Congress as we say NO to U.S. full spectrum dominance of the air, sea, land, and now SPACE! The U.S. Space Force was established under Trump through the FY2020 National Defense Authorization Act, despite the United States' commitment under the Outer Space Treaty of 1967 which restricts the placement of weapons of mass destruction in space and bans military maneuvers on celestial bodies. Now Biden is on board with the Space Force, too - why? Let's talk about the militarization of space, the escalation of the arms race, and the importance of protecting the heavens from earthling arms dealers.

Special Guests:

Congresswoman Maxine Waters represents the 43rd Congressional District in Los Angeles and has served in Congress since 1991. Congresswoman Waters, co-sponsor of the "No Militarization of Space Act" (H.R. 5335) and Chair of the House Financial Services Committee, will talk about the bill to abolish the Space Force and how the $15 billion budgeted for the Space Force could be spent on housing at home.

Bruce Gagnon is the Coordinator of the Global Network Against Weapons & Nuclear Power in Space and is a Vietnam-era veteran who regularly protests the Navy shipyard in Bath, Maine. Getting his start as a state coordinator of the FL Coalition for Peace and Justice, Gagnon has worked on space issues for more than 20 years. Valuable resources on the moon and planets form the next battleground for corporate profit, he says, and "defense" programs such as "Star Wars" actually are conceived as offense.

Capitol Calling Party

Join our Capitol Calling Party as we call and write our House members to co-sponsor H.R. 5335, which would abolish the Space Force to de-escalate the arms race.






Marcy Winograd ·

120 RSVPS Willie Terry Anne Fuller Romina Beitseen Anita dutt Marge Francois Paul Flansburg F Taylor Bruce Andrews Carolyn Latierra Mary Beth Sullivan Tina Ann S. A. Linden Michael Friedman beverly lowen George Lee Lee Fern Tishman Mary Saraf Mark Reisinger Masood A Sheikh Alejandro Fernández Joy Johnson Ziba Az Henry Schwarz a vs Jon Krampner Gene Herman Kirsten Moy Mary Ann Preston Mathew Fascetti Rena Lewis Laurel Farnham Charles Davis Frank Dorrel Andrew Davis Courtney Childs kathleen jackson Calli Madrone Carol Ayres Delia McGrath Andy Silver Michael Harrison Steve Walker phil allen William Simon Kevin Eisenstaedt Barbara Laxon Justin Truong Donald Smith

Who's RSVPing

  • Willie signed 2 hours ago

  • Anne signed 3 hours ago

  • Romina signed 6 hours ago

  • Anita signed 7 hours ago

  • Marge signed 11 hours ago

  • Paul signed 12 hours ago

  • F signed 14 hours ago

  • Bruce signed 14 hours ago

  • Carolyn signed 15 hours ago

  • Mary Beth signed 15 hours ago

  • Tina signed 16 hours ago

  • S. A. signed 16 hours ago

  • Michael signed 16 hours ago

  • beverly signed 17 hours ago

  • George signed 17 hours ago

  • Fern signed 17 hours ago

  • Mary signed 18 hours ago

  • Mark signed 18 hours ago

  • Masood signed 18 hours ago

  • Alejandro signed 19 hours ago

  • Joy signed 20 hours ago

  • Ziba signed 21 hours ago

  • Henry signed 21 hours ago

  • a signed 21 hours ago

  • Jon signed 21 hours ago

  • Gene signed 21 hours ago

  • Kirsten signed 22 hours ago

  • Mary signed 22 hours ago

  • Mathew signed 23 hours ago

  • Rena signed 23 hours ago

Can we count you in?

Showing 30 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.