Skip navigation

Tuesday, October 5 Capitol Calling Party: Haitian Refugees: Biden, Do Better!


On Tuesday, October 5, join CODEPINK Congress as we urge the Biden administration to suspend the use of Title 42 and allow Haitian refugees to apply for political asylum.

The Biden administration continues to deport thousands of Haitian refugees fleeing political collapse, street violence, and earthquake disruption. While the White House denies Haitians the right to asylum, up to 14,000 Haitian refugees are facing a humanitarian crisis - recently, U.S. envoy to Haiti Daniel Foote resigned on the basis of the ‚Äúinhumane‚ÄĚ mass deportations. Under Biden, the Department of Homeland Security has continued to rely on obscure public health law Title 42 to deny Haitians entry into the United States because of the COVID pandemic.

Patrice Lawrence, originally from Jamaica, is the Co-Director for the UndocuBlack Network, a powerful multigenerational community of currently and formerly undocumented Black people fighting to not only survive, but thrive. Patrice has been on the forefront of exposing the plight of Haitians in makeshift camps in Del Rio, Texas, and pressuring the Biden Administration to allow for an orderly asylum process as stipulated by law instead of inhumane mass expulsions of vulnerable people.

Paul Christian Namphy is the lead organizer of Miami-based Haitian group Family Action Network Movement (FANM). For the past three years, FANM has successfully spearheaded the Temporary Protected Status National Campaign for Haitians, and has been leading delegations to Washington D.C. to advocate for a permanent solution with a path to citizenship. He recently returned from Del Rio, Texas, where he was advocating on behalf of Haitian migrants.






Marcy Winograd ·

200 RSVPS Temay So Delia McGrath Kenneth Taylor Debbie Weaver Brett Drugge Patricia Murphy Jana Ochs Nahid Azad Jan Meslin Linda Corey Gael Murphy Sara Roos Aly Wane Kevin Gribbroek Anthony Gidora Susan Wakefield Gerald Belsky Cynthia Lazarenko David Guran Mike Fox Jim Carpenter Jean Laplante an-mei louis-goff John Webster David Troy Bruce Andrews Bobbee Murr Haskell Delaney Linda Milazzo sandra weiss Madison Tang Ruth Reischman Carol Ayres John Douglas Rafael Abramovici Donald Harland Ellie Happel James Mondragon Robin Peinado richard blake Joan Yater Bill Lankford Mark M Giese Hollis Higgins Monica Cirigliano Callie Lockwood Paul Miller Illana Naylor

Who's RSVPing

  • Temay signed 11 days ago

  • Delia signed 12 days ago

  • Kenneth signed 19 days ago

  • Debbie signed 19 days ago

  • Brett signed 19 days ago

  • Patricia signed 19 days ago

  • Jana signed 19 days ago

  • Nahid signed 19 days ago

  • Jan signed 19 days ago

  • Linda signed 19 days ago

  • Gael signed 19 days ago

  • Sara signed 19 days ago

  • Aly signed 19 days ago

  • Kevin signed 19 days ago

  • Anthony signed 19 days ago

  • Susan signed 19 days ago

  • Gerald signed 19 days ago

  • Cynthia signed 19 days ago

  • David signed 19 days ago

  • Mike signed 19 days ago

  • Jim signed 19 days ago

  • Jean signed 19 days ago

  • an-mei signed 19 days ago

  • John signed 19 days ago

  • David signed 19 days ago

  • Bruce signed 19 days ago

  • Bobbee signed 19 days ago

  • Haskell signed 19 days ago

  • Linda signed 19 days ago

  • sandra signed 19 days ago

Can we count you in?