Skip navigation

Afghanistan: Who’s to Blame and What Next?

With the collapse of the US-backed Afghan government and the Taliban set to return to a position of power they occupied 20 years ago, who is responsible for this colossal failure? Who should be held accountable and how? And what can we do to make sure that lessons are learned that will stop the US government from future invasions/occupations?

*President Biden announced this morning that he will be giving remarks on Afghanistan at 12:45PT/3:45ET. So, for the beginning of the webinar, we will broadcast his speech. 

Matthew Hoh
Ann Wright
Dr. Zaher Wahab

Zaher Wahab was born and schooled in Afghanistan, received a BA in sociology from The American University of Beirut, an MA in comparative education from Teachers College, Columbia University, and an MA in anthropology, and a PhD in international development education from Stanford University. Dr. Wahab was the first person in his family’s history to attend the village school, a boarding school in Kabul, and receive scholarships to attend college in Lebanon and the US. Dr. Wahab served as senior advisor to the Minister of Higher Education in Afghanistan from 2002 to 2006. he has written and presented numerous papers at regional, national, and international forums on education, was profiled in the Stanford Magazine, Academe, The Portland Alliance, The Oregonian, The Lake Oswego Review and Lewis & Clark’s The Chronicle Magazine for his achievements and for his services in the U.S. and Afghanistan, and is a frequent speaker at educational, civic and media organizations. 

Matthew Hoh has nearly 12 years of experience with America’s wars overseas with the US Marine Corps, Department of Defense, and State Department. He has been a senior fellow with the Center For International Policy since 2010. In 2009, Matthew resigned in protest from his post in Afghanistan with the State Department over the American escalation of the war. His writings have appeared in publications such as the Defense News, the Guardian, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post. He has been a guest on hundreds of radio and television networks and is an active member of Veterans for Peace.

Ann Wright is a retired Army Colonel who was a diplomat in the State Department for 16 years, serving in the U.S. embassies of Afghanistan, Sierra Leone, Micronesia, Mongolia, Kyrgyzstan, Grenada and Nicaragua. She was on the team that reopened the U.S. Embassy in Kabul in December 2001 and remained five months. On March 13, 2003, Wright sent a letter of resignation to then-Secretary of State Colin Powell. Since that day, she has worked for peace, writing and speaking all over the world and has returned three times to Afghanistan. Wright is co-author of Dissent: Voices of Conscience and is active with CODEPINK, Veterans for Peace, and other organizations.

Moderated by Medea Benjamin, co-founder of CODEPINK and author of Drone Warfare: Killing by Remote Control, Kingdom of the Unjust: Behind the U.S.-Saudi Connection, and Inside Iran: The Real History and Politics of the Islamic Republic of Iran


Or One tap mobile :
US: +16465588656,,86264227538# or +13017158592,,86264227538#
Or Telephone:
Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):
US: +1 646 558 8656 or +1 301 715 8592 or +1 312 626 6799 or +1 346 248 7799 or +1 669 900 6833 or +1 253 215 8782
Webinar ID: 862 6422 7538
International numbers available:

You can also watch via CODEPINK's YouTube channel.






Ariel E Gold · · 5105995330

1,286 RSVPS Karen Beatty john musick David Stump Msrgo Schulter Dorrine Marshall James Balk Elizabeth Fattah Gabriel Mondragón Jana Ochs Jacqueline Barnett Arlene Halfon Charlotte Casey Susanna Lewis Joan Thornhill Kim Harmon Debra Di Piazza Letecia Layson Annie Hallatt Linda Sartor Jeff Rudisill Shirley Pate Cynthia Kamp Sue Ellen Klein Rosemary Obeid Linda Pollack Kim Turnbull Tlaloc Tokuda Farjana Karim Glenda Bissex Rhoda Rosenfeld Gary Freeberg Philip Engblom pilar costas Chenjerai Kumanyika Genevieve Vaughan Jeffrey Juran Patrick Pesek-Herriges Prashant Inamti Minerva Martinez Janet O'Riordan Shafi Refai Luis Bentolila Mei Lam Madison Tang S. Joe Estores Chris Hager Paul Brodoway Margot Smith

Who's RSVPing

  • Elizabeth signed 114 days ago

  • Mona signed 114 days ago

  • Martha signed 114 days ago

  • frieda signed 114 days ago

  • Marjorie signed 114 days ago

  • Maria signed 114 days ago

  • Katherine signed 114 days ago

  • Matthew signed 114 days ago

  • nanette signed 114 days ago

  • Lynn signed 114 days ago

  • Joyce signed 114 days ago

  • angela signed 114 days ago

  • eleanor signed 114 days ago

  • Liz signed 114 days ago

  • John signed 114 days ago

  • Claire signed 114 days ago

  • Sam signed 114 days ago

  • Michael signed 114 days ago

  • Shelley signed 114 days ago

  • Donald signed 114 days ago

  • Linda signed 114 days ago

  • Ghislaine signed 114 days ago

  • Martha signed 114 days ago

  • Sherry signed 114 days ago

  • Ariane signed 114 days ago

  • Ingrid signed 114 days ago

  • Gerry signed 114 days ago

  • Rich signed 114 days ago

  • Howard signed 114 days ago

  • Margaret signed 114 days ago

Can we count you in?

Showing 30 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.