Skip navigation

Tuesday, March 16 Capitol Calling Party: Support Activists in Myanmar

On Tuesday, March 16, CODEPINK Congress will focus on the powerful resistance movement in Myanmar (Burma) fighting the military coup that seized power on February 1, 2021. Hosts Marcy Winograd, Medea Benjamin, and Hanieh Jodat Barnes will be joined by Michael Haack, a former campaign coordinator for US Campaign for Burma, a researcher on Myanmar’s history and politics, and now a campaigner with the International Campaign for the Rohingya and No Business with Genocide. Sandra Mon, a Burmese citizen and epidemiologist, will also join us. Sandra's research centers on the intersection of disease dynamics, human rights, and comparative politics in, but not limited to, Southeast Asia.

As part of the coup, the Myanmar military imprisoned leader Aung San Suu Kyi, senior figures from her ruling party, and prominent pro-democracy and human rights advocates. Every day, young people and workers in Myanmar have courageously taken to the streets in a new #CivilDisobedienceMovement (CDM) demanding an end to military rule. The military is now brutally cracking down, injuring and killing peaceful pro-democracy protesters. 

That’s why we will be calling for our representatives to support H.Res.134, a bill condemning the military coup and the detention of civilian leaders, and calling for the release of all those detained and for those elected to serve in Parliament to resume their duties.

Following our guests’ presentations and Q & A, we will host a Capitol Calling Party to take action on supporting the resistance movement in Myanmar.

Please RSVP to receive the Zoom link!






Marcy Winograd ·

227 RSVPS Nadia Sindi Mary Reese-Upton F. Taylor Don Chauls Mia Ko Olga Strickland Frank Araiza Kayla Asato Patrick Bonner Christopher Lish Jason Melancon Mike Fox Medea Benjamin Nahid Azad Dorothy Reik K Lasker Sheila Goldner Michael Beer Ashley Lwin Dan O'Neal Margo Schulter Carol Ann Pinson Tracy McLellan Michael Haack Jeffery Hull Burton Fleming Mikei Levy Cody Hunter Maxine Garcia Helen Evelev Aye Chan Beth Kerwin Marilyn Carlisle Martha Spiess Jean Haskell paul beach Dean Inada Rachel Bruhnke Hisae Ogawa Ann Wilcox Lynn Sableman Marleen Gillespie Gerie Bell David R Sonneborn Kate C Connell Janice Gintzler Allan and Ana FISHER Ruth Strauss

Who's RSVPing

  • Nadia signed 51 days ago

  • Mary signed 51 days ago

  • F. signed 51 days ago

  • Don signed 51 days ago

  • Mia signed 51 days ago

  • Olga signed 51 days ago

  • Frank signed 51 days ago

  • Kayla signed 51 days ago

  • Patrick signed 51 days ago

  • Christopher signed 51 days ago

  • Jason signed 51 days ago

  • Mike signed 51 days ago

  • Medea signed 51 days ago

  • Nahid signed 51 days ago

  • Dorothy signed 51 days ago

  • K signed 51 days ago

  • Sheila signed 51 days ago

  • Michael signed 51 days ago

  • Ashley signed 51 days ago

  • Dan signed 52 days ago

  • Margo signed 52 days ago

  • Carol signed 52 days ago

  • Tracy signed 52 days ago

  • Michael signed 52 days ago

  • Jeffery signed 52 days ago

  • Burton signed 52 days ago

  • Mikei signed 52 days ago

  • Cody signed 52 days ago

  • Maxine signed 52 days ago

  • Helen signed 52 days ago

Can we count you in?

Showing 30 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.