Skip navigation

Canada Bans Weapons to Israel - CODEPINK Congress Capitol Calling Party

Tuesday, Oct 17 Capitol Calling Party

Join CODEPINK Congress as we educate, activate and mobilize for peace legislation!

As the US Congress approves another $3 billion in arms for Israeli genocide, Canada’s parliament–thanks to the New Democratic Party—votes to suspend weapons sales to Israel. Though Canada’s vote was non-binding, Canada’s foreign affairs minister says, “It is a real thing and the government will halt future arms shipments." How did peace activists in Canada organize to win?

Join CODEPINK Congress for a conversation with Canadians on what it took to pass the resolution and what it will take to make it stick.

Featured Guests:

Libby Davies is a Canadian politician from British Columbia. She was the member of Parliament for Vancouver East from 1997 to 2015, House Leader for the New Democratic Party from 2003 to 2011, and Deputy Leader of the party from 2007 until 2015. leading advocates for social justice. During her 18 years in the House of Commons, she gave a voice to the voiceless on such issues as the plight of thalidomide survivors, LGBTQ rights, affordable housing, missing and murdered women, and safe injection sites.

Kim Elliott grew up in an agricultural community in rural Quebec. She is an accomplished researcher, writer, and editor. She was executive director of the award-winning national, non-profit news organization from 2005-2023. Kim has had a life-long commitment to social justice and human rights advocacy, and has organized campaigns, conferences and events, including leading a Canadian parliamentary delegation to the Middle East. 






Marcy Winograd ·

Can we count you in?

305 RSVPS R Hawrylko Heary Harun kathrin winkler Christian Ailes Steve Walker Damon Ramsey Gail Brown Peggi Jo Vincent Janice Sevre-Duszynska robert levis Kathryn Barrett Ida Henderson Robert Hux Tas Damen Ossob Abdillahi Gonzalo Lopez Candace Holt Mary Davies Richard Karsten Elizabeth Lee Guillermina Yañez Robert A. Moses Tracy Jarvis Brigid Mullane Catherine Crockett Sally Frumkin Nancy Christensen Hussein Mourtada Brian Tait Tracy Frisch Jean Mcculloch Susanna J Dodgson Niovi Patsicakis Barry Riesch Jonathan Haines Deborah Kaiser Tabinda Nasir Diane McIntyre Sharon Wheeler Wheeler Regina Demyen Jane Ku Gloriela Iguina Nancy Fey Sophia Kelleher Lindsay Dyett Vivian Zoma Charlotte Connelly David Ramsay

Who's RSVPing

  • R signed 18 hours ago

  • Heary signed 7 days ago

  • kathrin signed 9 days ago

  • Christian signed 10 days ago

  • Steve signed 10 days ago

  • Damon signed 10 days ago

  • Gail signed 10 days ago

  • Peggi Jo signed 10 days ago

  • Janice signed 10 days ago

  • robert signed 10 days ago

  • Kathryn signed 10 days ago

  • Ida signed 10 days ago

  • Robert signed 10 days ago

  • Tas signed 10 days ago

  • Ossob signed 10 days ago

  • Gonzalo signed 10 days ago

  • Candace signed 10 days ago

  • Mary signed 10 days ago

  • Richard signed 10 days ago

  • Elizabeth signed 10 days ago

  • Guillermina signed 10 days ago

  • Robert A. signed 10 days ago

  • Tracy signed 10 days ago

  • Brigid signed 10 days ago

  • Catherine signed 10 days ago

  • Sally signed 10 days ago

  • Nancy signed 11 days ago

  • Hussein signed 11 days ago

  • Brian signed 11 days ago

  • Tracy signed 11 days ago