Skip navigation

Tuesday, May 4 Capitol Calling Party: Divest from the War Machine

On Tuesday, May 4, CODEPINK Congress will be led by two special co-hosts, Danaka Katovich and Olivia Hamer of the Peace Collective. We will be joined by two guests: 

Carley Towne is CODEPINK’s national co-director and leader of its Divest from War campaign. Carley graduated from the University of California in San Diego with a degree in critical gender studies and political science. Carley will update us on outreach to urge investors, universities, religious organizations, retirement funds, and mutual funds to divest from war, share CODEPINK’s recommendations for cuts to the military budget, and explain the thinking behind the Divest from the War Machine pledge.

Stephen Semler is co-founder of the Security Policy Reform Institute, a grassroots-funded think tank promoting a working-class approach to US foreign policy. Before that, he gained extensive knowledge of the formulation of the US military budget through his experience working for a Capitol Hill-based government relations firm. While living in Beirut, Stephen worked for Mercy Corps' Humanitarian Access Team, which conducted analysis to inform the delivery of humanitarian relief by non-governmental organizations in the context of the conflict in Syria.

Together, we will learn who in Congress is taking the most money from military contractors and whether there is a correlation between these congressional representatives and their votes for militarism. Please RSVP for the Zoom information!






Marcy Winograd ·

214 RSVPS Roger Underhill Mary Hanson Justin Truong akiko oguchi Charlotte Casey David R Sonneborn Steph Terrazas Dr. F Taylor Alex McDonald Andrew Silver Barbara Wmsatt Sara Roos linda wan Arla Ertz Gerie Bell Christopher Lish Kate Connell Susan Benjamin Susan Mirsky Marcy Winograd Camille Russell Cody Hunter Olivia Hamer Diane Bozzetto Larry Phemister Danaka Katovich Lynn Jacobsson Tlaloc Tokuda Michael Beer Lucille Gervase Jan Weinberg Robert Richard Danett Abbott-Wicker Dan O'Neal Timothea Papas Lorna Paisley Brigid Mullane Suzanne Sparks John Leehane Margo Schulter John Douglas Jeffery Hull Marie Bravo Paul Flansburg Virginia Meagher Delia McGrath Beverly Mcgain David Kuebrich

Who's RSVPing

  • Roger signed 32 days ago

  • Mary signed 39 days ago

  • Justin signed 39 days ago

  • akiko signed 39 days ago

  • Charlotte signed 39 days ago

  • David R signed 39 days ago

  • Steph signed 39 days ago

  • Dr. signed 39 days ago

  • Alex signed 39 days ago

  • Andrew signed 39 days ago

  • Barbara signed 39 days ago

  • Sara signed 39 days ago

  • david signed 39 days ago

  • linda signed 39 days ago

  • Arla signed 39 days ago

  • Gerie signed 39 days ago

  • Christopher signed 39 days ago

  • Kate signed 39 days ago

  • Susan signed 39 days ago

  • Susan signed 39 days ago

  • Marcy signed 39 days ago

  • Camille signed 40 days ago

  • Cody signed 40 days ago

  • Olivia signed 40 days ago

  • Diane signed 40 days ago

  • Larry signed 40 days ago

  • Danaka signed 40 days ago

  • Lynn signed 40 days ago

  • Tlaloc signed 40 days ago

  • Michael signed 40 days ago

Can we count you in?

Showing 30 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.