Skip navigation

Tuesday, May 4 Capitol Calling Party: Divest from the War Machine

On Tuesday, May 4, CODEPINK Congress will be led by two special co-hosts, Danaka Katovich and Olivia Hamer of the Peace Collective. We will be joined by two guests: 

Carley Towne is CODEPINK’s national co-director and leader of its Divest from War campaign. Carley graduated from the University of California in San Diego with a degree in critical gender studies and political science. Carley will update us on outreach to urge investors, universities, religious organizations, retirement funds, and mutual funds to divest from war, share CODEPINK’s recommendations for cuts to the military budget, and explain the thinking behind the Divest from the War Machine pledge.

Stephen Semler is co-founder of the Security Policy Reform Institute, a grassroots-funded think tank promoting a working-class approach to US foreign policy. Before that, he gained extensive knowledge of the formulation of the US military budget through his experience working for a Capitol Hill-based government relations firm. While living in Beirut, Stephen worked for Mercy Corps' Humanitarian Access Team, which conducted analysis to inform the delivery of humanitarian relief by non-governmental organizations in the context of the conflict in Syria.

Together, we will learn who in Congress is taking the most money from military contractors and whether there is a correlation between these congressional representatives and their votes for militarism. Please RSVP for the Zoom information!






Marcy Winograd ·

213 RSVPS Roberta Frye Gonzalo Lopez Thomas J Pettitt Frances Goff Erich Winkler Ari Reyes Rodney Harris Victoria Folker Louise Lansberry KevinTo Eisenstaedt Brian Donohue Calli Madrone charles bowman Don Hyde M K Linda Corey John Russell Christopher Spicer Susan Schacher Peggy Lalor Mike Caggiano Rachel Bruhnke Shahla Aghdaie William Fusfield Joan Stallard Dat Duthinh Katherine Sogolow James Bright Katerina Canyon Desmond Kahn Christina leung Mathew Fascetti Mary Perner S. A. Linden Donald Smith Judith Inskeep Bruce Shay Bart Bolger Gloria Hoffman Lizzie Hourican Jeff Rudisill Joan Simon Mark Stansbery Cathy Mink Kiana Fok Joan Allen Carly Cassano Suzie Garrett

Who's RSVPing

  • Jim signed 7 days ago

  • willie signed 8 days ago

  • Lynn signed 8 days ago

  • Alejandro signed 8 days ago

  • Karen signed 8 days ago

  • Simon signed 8 days ago

  • Mary signed 8 days ago

  • Shannon signed 8 days ago

  • Olga signed 8 days ago

  • Jane signed 8 days ago

  • Ana signed 8 days ago

  • Allan signed 8 days ago

  • Max signed 8 days ago

  • Josie signed 8 days ago

  • Marilyn signed 8 days ago

  • Doug signed 8 days ago

  • William signed 8 days ago

  • Ruth signed 8 days ago

  • Zuhair signed 8 days ago

  • Ziba signed 8 days ago

  • Teresita signed 8 days ago

  • Roger signed 8 days ago

  • erin signed 8 days ago

  • Dana signed 8 days ago

  • Maz signed 8 days ago

  • Jesse signed 8 days ago

  • Mark signed 8 days ago

  • Edmond signed 8 days ago

  • Madison signed 8 days ago

  • Bernice signed 8 days ago

Can we count you in?

Showing 30 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.