Skip navigation

Tuesday, May 4 Capitol Calling Party: Divest from the War Machine

On Tuesday, May 4, CODEPINK Congress will be led by two special co-hosts, Danaka Katovich and Olivia Hamer of the Peace Collective. We will be joined by two guests: 

Carley Towne is CODEPINK’s national co-director and leader of its Divest from War campaign. Carley graduated from the University of California in San Diego with a degree in critical gender studies and political science. Carley will update us on outreach to urge investors, universities, religious organizations, retirement funds, and mutual funds to divest from war, share CODEPINK’s recommendations for cuts to the military budget, and explain the thinking behind the Divest from the War Machine pledge.

Stephen Semler is co-founder of the Security Policy Reform Institute, a grassroots-funded think tank promoting a working-class approach to US foreign policy. Before that, he gained extensive knowledge of the formulation of the US military budget through his experience working for a Capitol Hill-based government relations firm. While living in Beirut, Stephen worked for Mercy Corps' Humanitarian Access Team, which conducted analysis to inform the delivery of humanitarian relief by non-governmental organizations in the context of the conflict in Syria.

Together, we will learn who in Congress is taking the most money from military contractors and whether there is a correlation between these congressional representatives and their votes for militarism. Please RSVP for the Zoom information!






Marcy Winograd ·

213 RSVPS Robyn Lauster Patricia Hornak Jim Carpenter Abdulwahab Harmali Peace Action Montana Serpaj Ruth Strauss Frank Kromkowski Barbara Larcom Patricia Ferreira Robert Sullivan Jim Langford willie terry Lynn Canarelli Alejandro Fernández Karen Huffman Simon Vrouwe Mary Stockwell-White Shannon Markley Olga Strickland Jane A Yater Ana Timberlake Allan Crawshaw Max J Obuszewski Josie Lenwell Marilyn Lucier Doug Wingeier William Simon Ruth Reischman Zuhair Al-Atwi Ziba Azim Teresita Vanderdys Roger Kulp erin rowe Dana Fairbanks Maz Hadaegh Jesse James Mark Reisinger Edmond Paradis Madison Tang Bernice Tanenbaum Janet Abou-Elias Shea Leibow helena pasquarella Joy Ellen Booth Kit Kittredge Marilyn Carlisle Leah Bolger David Oppenheimer

Who's RSVPing

  • Jan signed 2 days ago

  • Robert signed 2 days ago

  • Danett signed 2 days ago

  • Dan signed 2 days ago

  • Timothea signed 2 days ago

  • Lorna signed 2 days ago

  • Brigid signed 3 days ago

  • Suzanne signed 3 days ago

  • John signed 3 days ago

  • Margo signed 3 days ago

  • John signed 3 days ago

  • Jeffery signed 3 days ago

  • Marie signed 3 days ago

  • Paul signed 4 days ago

  • Paul signed 4 days ago

  • Virginia signed 4 days ago

  • Delia signed 4 days ago

  • Beverly signed 4 days ago

  • David signed 5 days ago

  • Dav signed 5 days ago

  • Robyn signed 5 days ago

  • Patricia signed 5 days ago

  • Jim signed 5 days ago

  • Abdulwahab signed 5 days ago

  • Peace Action Montana signed 5 days ago

  • Ruth signed 5 days ago

  • Frank signed 5 days ago

  • Barbara signed 5 days ago

  • Patricia signed 5 days ago

  • Robert signed 5 days ago

Can we count you in?

Showing 30 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.