Skip navigation

Tuesday, April 5 Capitol Calling Party: Ukraine: Prospects for Peace and Preventing Escalation

Tuesday, April 5 Capitol Calling Party: Ukraine: Prospects for Peace and Preventing Escalation


On Tuesday, April 5, join CODEPINK Congress & Massachusetts Peace Action for our twice-monthly Capitol Calling Party.

As Russia’s assault on Ukraine takes a huge civilian toll, peace activists in the United States are calling on the Biden administration to articulate compromises the U.S. and NATO will support to end this crisis.

Our guests will discuss options for peace that include neutrality for Ukraine, humanitarian aid for refugees, an international security agreement, status of the secessionist regions in the Donbas, Russian reparations for Ukraine and an off-ramp for lifting sanctions on Russia. How do we reach a peace settlement before further escalation? The stakes are high for all of us.

*Note: By RSVPing to this event, you are signing up to join the CODEPINK AND either Massachusetts Peace Action or your local Peace Action affiliate's email list

Featured Guests:

Phyllis Bennis is a Fellow of the Institute for Policy Studies in Washington and of the Amsterdam-based Transnational Institute. She writes and speaks widely across the U.S. and throughout the world on Middle East issues including Palestine-Israel, Iran, Syria, Afghanistan, and on US wars and foreign policy. She is a co-founder of the U.S. Campaign for Palestinian Rights and the Iraq-era anti-war coalition United for Peace and Justice.

Joseph Gerson is president of the Campaign for Peace, Disarmament and Common Security, vice-president of the International Peace Bureau, and a board member of MAPA. He long served the American Friends Service Committee as director of the Peace and Economic Security Program. Joseph Gerson is also the author of the book, “Empire and the Bomb: How the U.S. Uses Nuclear Weapons to Dominate the World.”

Can we count you in?






Marcy Winograd ·

741 RSVPS Susan Ravitz Jean Kosmac Rena Lewis Alan Mytty James Marra Nahid Azad Michael Karsh Doris Soroko Brucee Andrews Giannarosa Marino Gail Lelyveld Tim Moffett Ronald Fujiyoshi Jan Rubens Cheryl Davila Former Councilmember Barry Berk Chrissy Kirchhoefer David Kotz Jiyoun Kim Dennis Wong Shirley Kirsten Cherrill Spencer Micki Boling Priscilla Lane David Buck Paul Popinchalk Callie Lockwood Laurent Gilbert, Sr. Mary Ellen Gondeck Beverley Dight James Greene Christy Breihan Susan miirsky Phyllis Arist Donald Harland Sarah Grey Jean E. Verthein Sean Ahern Tom Baker Nancy Price Ned Rosch Maureen Aumand mark hardesty Jeannine Declue Bob Blair Sigrid Meinel elissa Behar Hauptman cayhy mink