Skip navigation

Tuesday, March 16 Capitol Calling Party: Support Activists in Myanmar

On Tuesday, March 16, CODEPINK Congress will focus on the powerful resistance movement in Myanmar (Burma) fighting the military coup that seized power on February 1, 2021. Hosts Marcy Winograd, Medea Benjamin, and Hanieh Jodat Barnes will be joined by Michael Haack, a former campaign coordinator for US Campaign for Burma, a researcher on Myanmar’s history and politics, and now a campaigner with the International Campaign for the Rohingya and No Business with Genocide. Sandra Mon, a Burmese citizen and epidemiologist, will also join us. Sandra's research centers on the intersection of disease dynamics, human rights, and comparative politics in, but not limited to, Southeast Asia.

As part of the coup, the Myanmar military imprisoned leader Aung San Suu Kyi, senior figures from her ruling party, and prominent pro-democracy and human rights advocates. Every day, young people and workers in Myanmar have courageously taken to the streets in a new #CivilDisobedienceMovement (CDM) demanding an end to military rule. The military is now brutally cracking down, injuring and killing peaceful pro-democracy protesters. 

That’s why we will be calling for our representatives to support H.Res.134, a bill condemning the military coup and the detention of civilian leaders, and calling for the release of all those detained and for those elected to serve in Parliament to resume their duties.

Following our guests’ presentations and Q & A, we will host a Capitol Calling Party to take action on supporting the resistance movement in Myanmar.

Please RSVP to receive the Zoom link!

Can we count you in?






Marcy Winograd ·

228 RSVPS erin rowe Drew Martin Dianne Budd John Leehane Steve Benson Steve Schatz Callie Lockwood John Russell Khin Ma Ronald Fujiyoshi Win Tun Nyunt Shimrra Shai Nancy Bonvillain Jerilyn stapleton Liz Hourican Charlotte Casey Josie Lenwell Jain Young Janet Powers wendy peikes Constance Barker Mary Swift Danett Abbott-Wicker Doug Wingeier Zib Az Rodney Harris Victoria Folker Mark Reisinger Barbara Larcom Charles Clements John O'Connor Katharine Tussing Mathew Fascetti Joe Foster Ryan Black Sally-Alice Thompson Calli Madrone Jason Brinkman Wansun Song Ethel MacDonald Seth Morrison Wade Fulmer Bill McGrath Elizabeth smith Paula LEME-Meza Susan Blain Mary Shesgreen Nancy Hansen

Who's RSVPing

  • Judy signed 437 days ago

  • Paul signed 437 days ago

  • Alex signed 437 days ago

  • Rose signed 437 days ago

  • John signed 437 days ago

  • Jay signed 437 days ago

  • Ellie signed 437 days ago

  • Elizabeth signed 438 days ago

  • William signed 438 days ago

  • Elaine signed 438 days ago

  • Robert signed 438 days ago

  • Ingrid signed 438 days ago

  • Kathryn signed 438 days ago

  • ethan signed 438 days ago

  • Merrie signed 439 days ago

  • Delia signed 439 days ago

  • Amy signed 439 days ago

  • Cara signed 439 days ago

  • Andrew signed 439 days ago

  • Tabassum signed 439 days ago

  • Cindy signed 439 days ago

  • Michael signed 439 days ago

  • Jane signed 439 days ago

  • Anwaar signed 439 days ago

  • Susan signed 439 days ago

  • Jerry signed 439 days ago

  • W signed 439 days ago

  • Beverly signed 439 days ago

  • Enas signed 439 days ago

  • Mary signed 439 days ago

Showing 30 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.